From the experienced am I doing anything wrong?

Hollow

Happy Thankful Member
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I have a friend at work that was kind of coaching me on riding before I ever bought a bike. One of many concerns I had about riding then was down shifting. I kept wondering how do I know when to shift down to the next gear? Also I was wondering what would happen if I shifted down to fast or like accidently shift to many times down and let go of the clutch? Would I get thrown over the bars or come to a sudden stop? Any how he told me not to worry about down shifting. He said save the engine and clutch etc... It is far easier to change the brakes and alot less expensive. Well when I started riding I just kind of found my confort zone for what I liked to do and not. I do know just cause I am confortable doesn't mean that it's the best way or safest. Anytime I have to come to a stop I usually just leave the bike in the gear and let it slow itself down to a decent speed then I grab the clutch and brakes all at the same time. Brakes front and back I apply the same pressure. Before I stop I put the bike in 1st and then stop. Right before I stop or kind of at the same time I stop I put both feet down secure balance and then lean on a leg and prop the other if I wish. To be honest I don't like to down shift because I don't like slowing down so fast with no brake light. It worries me that someone will run up my rear with my brake light not lite. Please share with me on your advice or what you do even and why. Thanks Even though I didn't mention it yes I always watch my mirrors as I brake. I glance at them and make sure ppl behind me see me and are stopping. If I see someone coming I flash the brakes light several times and again make sure they are stopping also.

reiobard

Samurai FZ Soldier
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site