Spencahprewitt

Reaction score
Visit site
what’s up everyone, I am new to the Yamaha space and acquired an 08 FZ-6 from my step brother because it would die on first gear apparently. So for the back story

About 2-3 years ago he was riding the bike and something happened where it had locked up and the chain broke and was stuck in the front sprocket. My dad had taken it in, cleaned it up and planned on giving it back to him with a new chain on it. He got it started and running in neutral but would die on first gear or going into gear. He thought it odd and asked me if I could help him look it. Not knowing much about the bike I began tearing down some obvious covers and checking to see if anything was broken or looked out of place. Removed all the side covers and oil pan and found nothing out the ordinary. At this point my step brother had given me the bike to see if I could do anything with it because he believed to be a lost cause.

Fast forward to now. I’ve obtained a service manual and gone over a couple more easy checks to make sure everything is in order. I noticed the bike had been laid down at some point at least twice because of damage on both sides of the bike and frame protectors. I checked the tip over sensor through the diagnostic menu and found it working o.k. Also checked the kick stand switch for proper function and found o.k. Found no other serious fault codes other than fault code 12 for the crankshaft position sensor. Found o.k. through testing as well.

At this point I’ve began to put the bike back together to see if it was some fluke. I’ve cleaned and recharged the air filter, changed the spark plugs, new battery , just finished putting in new clutch plates and springs, and have put most pieces back together on the bike.

My main concern at this point is the gear shifting.