Planning a trip

SirByron

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey all, so I'm planning a trip, bout 450 miles each way, staying for a few days. I've never done anything this long on an FZ6 before, so if anyone has any good touring advice I'd really appreciate it. I've got about 1,000 miles on my tires, and I'm getting a overall checkup for the 17,000 mile mark on the bike before I go, so I should be set on that front. Anyone ever have any problems with their FZ6 on longs trips? Any advice would be great, thanks.

jtarkany

Ronin
Elite Member
Reaction score
www.vcoe.org
Mechanically, I can't imagine you will have any difficulties (other than maybe a flat), just be sure to have some idea of where service is available along the route and AAA is not a bad idea if you don't already have it.

Make sure friends and family know your route and have scheduled check in times with them.

You shouldn't have any trouble doing the 450 in a day, just be sure to stop and give yourself a break every 150 - 200 miles, you will get fatigued.

Have a great trip :D.

rbesr

Reaction score
Visit site
My son and I just did 1800 miles round trip to Rhode Island and back. I took the Venture and Drew rode the FZ6. The fizzer was flawless and Drew never complained of being tired. We averaged 450 mile a day while traveling. We try to take a break every 150 miles or so to loosen up, drink something etc. The FZ6 is a pretty good little sport tourer.

Kriswithak

Reaction score
Visit site
Takes lots of breaks if you get sore, tired or just distracted! Having a coffee and something to eat not only helps your alertness but also lets you stretch your muscles, keep in the right frame of mind and means you'll need another break in 2 or so hours.

Do a quick one over of the bike the day before, check your oil, all your lights, your tyre pressure, your chain and whether it needs lube, make sure all the fluid levels are at the right place or within the right range.