Help!! My first oil change- by myself.

jfz6

Not Here Enough
Premium Member
Reaction score
web.mac.com
All my posts start with HELP!!!

I am about to go change my oil. Went out yesterday and bought everything that I though that I needed. I am trying to find the picture by picture thread on how to do it. For some reason taking of my rims and chain for tire changes don't scare me but this one does.

Can anyone give me that link or a link to the step by step?

Also- no one at the local shop said anything about a torque wrench????

Any help would be appreciated.

Help,
J.

jfz6

Not Here Enough
Premium Member
Reaction score
web.mac.com
Ummmm....yea. I am not very good at mechanical things nor am I good at doing searches on the internet either. Thanks for the link but it returned a thread with 101 pages!!!!!.

Can I just guess at this whole torque thing? I didn't do anything like them when changing my tires.

Last edited:

Boneman

Instructor
Elite Member
Reaction score
www.bonemanfz6.com
Ummmm....yea. I am not very good at mechanical things nor am I good at doing searches on the internet either. Thanks for the link but it returned a thread with 104 posts.

Your point? Not very good at reading either?

The only way to get good at things is to 'practice' them.

Tremulant

It's not over...
Reaction score
Visit site
Don't worry man! I changed my oil for the first time this year, and it's a lot easier than it sounds! Don't worry too much about the torque, just make sure you tighten that bolt as much as you feel comfortable with, and just watch it when you fill the oil and on your next couple of rides. It's a long process our first time, but it gets much easier, and it's SO worth it.

Oh, and if you don't already have a torque wrench, then you should go buy a set asap. They're pretty standard for anyone's basic garage :thumbup:

bikerider

Super Moderator
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site