My 05 will not rev past 2000 RPMs and will shut off like the kill switch was hit

chiefbawskee

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey yall, I have spent the last 2 days scouring the internet trying to figure out what is wrong with my bike (05 YZ6 with 33000 miles). Yesterday, I installed an IDEA gear indicator and some LED strip lights (to make me more noticable at night). After install and everything working correctly, I went to go take it for a test ride and put the gear indicator to learning mode so it can learn the gears. I quickly learned that my bike would not rev past 2000 rpms like and would immediately shut off like the kill switch was hit. I am a mechanic and very well versed in engine building and design and have built several race cars. I have a full range of tools from a Fluke to everything in between.

things that i have tried and tested:
  • verified that the kick stand kill switch works
  • verified that the handle kill switch works
  • checked codes: there are none
  • checked gas tank and gas (half a tank of gas and no debris inside)
  • verified TPS works (16-100)
  • checked stored codes (CPS and Tip sensor- all work as per specs)
  • Checked CPS (299 ohms- in spec)
  • adjusted idle to 1200 rpms
  • new battery
  • verified all fuses are good
  • checked oil level (good)
The bike will go into gear just fine but will shut off as soon as it gets to 1850-2000 rpms when throttle OR idle is applied in that range. It doesnt "gurgle" it just IMMEDIATELY shuts off like the kill switch was hit.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Gary in NJ

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
If the TPS wasn't properly reconnected or had a break in the line, the bike would not start and you'd get a code. I watched about a minute of that video when it occurred to me that perhaps you accidently dislodged a vacuum hose, or possibly pinched one, while doing the installation.

chiefbawskee

Reaction score
Visit site