Which brake to use?

AcesLA07

Reaction score
Visit site
Ok so I'm a newb to riding (about 2 mos). Well I laid my bike down 2 wks ago due to locking the rear wheel. So my dad who rode all of his childhood and now again told me not to ever really use the rear brake and that all he uses is the front brake. And since getting back on the bike I have to admit I'm pretty hesitant to use the rear brake.

My question is when to use the front brake and when to use the rear brake? I had been using the rear brake before curves to knock a little speed off then letting off of it before entering. And also using the rear brake to start the slowing down process then using the front brake to really stop. Now after my accident I catch myself just using the front brake for most everything.

What should I do? Thanks guys.

DefyInertia

Former '04 FZ6 Rider
Reaction score
Visit site
I primarily use the front: hard stopping, trail braking into turns, etc.

I use the rear as a secondary tool: breaking in low traction conditions (gravel, dirt, oily intersections), duirng slow speed manuvers, when cresting a hill under WOT.

On pavement, the front will and should be your primary brake, but the rear should not be completely cast aside.

sfcali86

Proud Dad
Reaction score
Visit site
i locked my back brake up too once but i got lucky im tall i was able to keep my balance somehow. It is nerve wrecking, after that i got paranoid for a bit to hit the rear, but trust me allways use both brakes even on turns, slow downs or to make a complete stop. just the front brake can be a worse outcome, Just train youself to use both, on a turn maybe roll of the throttle sooner. Also practice practice brakieng so you know how far you can go on them. Like a new car you ease the brakes on so you dont lock them up you have to learn the limits on the bike thats what worked for me

goodluck be safe :thumbup:

Red Wazp

Reaction score
Visit site