This bike gets one more chance before I sell it.

DarkNinja75

Professional Poster
Reaction score
Visit site
I did my first road trip on this bike over the weekend. It was about 400 miles to Yosemite National Park. I went with my girlfriend on the back, and my friend and his girlfriend on the back. He was on an '07 FZ6 while mine is an '08. Mountainous roads, lots of twisties with speeds around 30-50mph.

The abrupt on/off fuel injection is intolerable. It's incredibly unsettling and borderline dangerous. I have a 1995 Ninja 500 (with '88 technology) that's smoother than this. I'd roll off throttle before a turn, get back on, and enjoy a huge lurch. It got so bad that I modified my technique to keep on the throttle and drag the rear brake to scrub speed.

I'm not a beginner; it's not lack of rider ability. This is my 8th bike and I run in A group on the track. This is horrible engineering (likely caused by emissions restrictions). It should be fun, not stressful. I'm not alone on this; my buddy who I was with was thinking the exact same thing. We both stopped for a break and I said, "The fuel injection on this thing is horrible. I'm selling this bike." He replied," I was thinking the exact same thing."

I've read about the solutions. Power Commander, ECU flash, and Dynotune. But I'm not going to spend and extra $1000 to smooth out a problem that should have been fixed from the factory.

I'm going to try the G2 ergonomics tamer. If that doesn't fix it to my satisfaction, I'll be done with this bike and hunting for a Vstrom or VFR800. The only reason I'm even giving it another chance is because it's comfortable, versatile, and reliable.

greg

UK Luchador
Reaction score
Visit site
I've not ridden the S2, but I find it's ok provided I keep the engine singing. The throttle response on my CBR was fantastic though in comparison. I only find it choppy at low RPMs

DarkNinja75

Professional Poster
Reaction score
Visit site