Motorbike Doesn't start, you can hear it like is fine but it seems that don't get spark

javito

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm new in this forum however I've been riding for a few years already. I have a Yamaha FZ6N 2006.
I just came back from my work (30 minutes ride) a few days ago and the day after it didn't start.
You can hear the start common noise (something like yan yan yan yan I guess) and you can even see the revolutions going up, but nothing.

- It's not the kill switch
- I tried it in neutral and in first gear too (just in case it was the step switch)
It's not battery because:
- the battery is new (2 months)
- the day before I was riding it and not a problem
- I tried to push it to start it up (I went through a downhill that It should start it if it was a battery issue)

My theory is that it's an electric issue because I can smell the fuel if I use the throttle.
I didn't check the spark plugs if there is any spark when I press the start button
I checked the fuses and they are ok (the fuses that are at rear on the right hand side).

I was checking the Workshop manual and the troubleshooting says to check a few things and the next step would be the ignition coil.
I just opened the tank and I can see the ignition coils there, however I noticed there are 2 ignition coil (1 per 2 spark plugs) so my question is:
is it possible to be the ignition coil? if so, both of them should be broken because if at least one of them is working it should at least try to start, badly but at least try.

I'm not a mechanic I just have some working knowledge about engines and electric systems, and I just wanted to see if it might be something I might be able to fix.

Any recommendation or comment will be more than welcome.
Thanks everyone
Javier

ChevyFazer

Redneck MacGyver
Reaction score
Visit site
Welcome to the forum!