How fast is too fast? (regarding police)

How fast can you go before you get a ticket?

• Stop speeding and you won't have to worry!!!!

Votes: 6 4.5%
  • 1-5 MPH over posted limit

Votes: 15 11.3%
  • 5-10 MPH over posted limit

Votes: 70 52.6%
  • 10-15 MPH over posted limit

Votes: 26 19.5%
  • 15-20 MPH over posted limit

Votes: 5 3.8%
  • 20+ MPH over posted limit

Votes: 6 4.5%
  • Other??--Please explain

Votes: 5 3.8%

• Total voters

Mudkipz137

Reaction score
Visit site
So I'm a moderate driver in terms of aggressiveness. 98% of the time I drive a car/truck I drive at the speed limit, or 5 over (never heard of a ticket for 5 over personally). On a bike, I usually will find a couple moments to speed and get a rush (80-105 over less than a 1/4 mile of known, safe road), but then I'll slow down and cruise at a comfortable 5-10 over the speed limit.

My question to you is, not how fast do you drive, but how fast from your experience or knowledge can you go OVER the posted speed limit before getting pulled over? (And additionally, is there a difference between a 'pull over' speed where they will light you up and a 'ticket' speed where they will actually document a ticket?)
Perhaps highway has different 'standards' than surface roads, not sure.

I did search for a similar thread and read through several police related threads, but didnt find one specific to this. If I missed it, my apologies, I'm not trying to be a spammer!

Mud

Edit(s):