Help make decision fz6 vs 650r

chau

Reaction score
Visit site
hi folks,

I am new to biking in US and just about to buy a motor bike once I get through MSF by end of this month. I am a regular biker during summers and also had ridden motorbikes (150cc) close to 10 years ago back in my home country.

After reading several threads and visiting several forums, looks like both these machines are good but come with their own limitations. Before making the final call I wanted to check with the experts whether the limitations of fz6 are showstoppers or they are something addressed in '08 or '09 model or something that show up in 1 in 1000 machines.

fz6:
con: clutch issues, potential problems at low speeds (I4)
pro: wifly loves looks, great bike!

650r:
pro: good starter bike, can enjoy at lower speeds (parallel twin)
con: vibrations at certain rpm, light, feels bit narrow to me.

Again, I am not an expert in these machines and in no comparison to you experts, if any of the cons come as offensive, please take in the right spirits.

Thank you very much in advance!

Philippe1985

Reaction score
Visit site
I would never buy a bike with a parallel twin because the sound sucks!!:)
I don't know if it is the same but I had the chance to ride a ducati monster once. And it also is a 2 cilinder. It just was really good in the midrange, but started to shake on low rpm's and could not hande high rpm's.(sounds good!!)
So I don't understand that you say: potential problems at low speeds...
My fz6 is just perfect for low speeds.. An inline 4 runs great on every rpm. But it is a fact that it hasn't got much power on low rpm's. But it is just fine for riding at low speeds.
If you want to ride relaxed with an inline 4 just keep the rpm's low. If you want to go fast keep them high. There a just so many possabilities with an inline 4.
And my last advice: don't buy a bike where you have the feeling that it is a bit narrow for you...

Fz6Sa

SS1000 Veteran
Elite Member
Premium Member