My new 2006 FZ6 - first impressions

rtw

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi All,

I am new to the FZ6 and this group. If you recall I posted a few weeks ago with my description of fixing up a 2006 (fast blue). I am also new to street biking; my other bike is a Suzuki DRZ400.

The weather here is Salt Lake finally warmed up enough to ride, so out I went. I headed west into the desert. Lots of mostly empty two-lane highways with visibility for miles. The kind of place where someone, if he/she were so inclined, might be tempted to ride well above the speed limit. There are a few low passes between basins (basin and range country) with tight turns through the high desert scenery. I rode for several hours, and saw bunches of other bikers with the same spring fever that I have. Interestingly, 2 out of 3 of them were on Harleys.

My impressions of my new bike are as follows:

1) Wow. So much fun. The handling of this bike is so very, very good. It happily buzzes along at pretty amazing speeds (in 4th gear!), without missing a beat. Turning is consistent and smooth. I did the RaceTech-0.95+15wt fork upgrade, and I am happy with that. No real diving on the front; although it's a little stiff on the potholes, I wouldn't want the front end any softer.

2) Shifting 1-2-gears is notchy/clunky, as everyone says. These seemed to improve significanlty as the bike warmed up (or was I just getting used to it).

3) I am somewhat perplexted about the complaints I have seen of high-rev nature of this bike. I think this engine is great. It's quiet and the power is relatively smooth. Just embrace the bike and rev it up! People have complained about too much shifting, but they have they ever driven a manual automobile? I shift my truck every 10-20MPH increment.