'02 Ninja 250 rider, looking to move up to '05 FZ6!

mixtape

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey everyone,

My name is Paul. I'm a full time student from NJ, and this is my second year of riding!

My first bike was a 2002 Ninja 250. It has been a blast going from four wheels to two! I had a lot of fun, but I've quickly grown to wanting more power over the last two summers of riding, and also wouldn't mind fuel injection lol.

My only demands were to find another bike which also had an upright riding position. My friend let me ride his CBR600 once, but I felt like I was sitting on the bike, rather than riding it :rolleyes:.

My first choice was a Ninja 650R, because naturally this is the way that most Ninja 250 riders go. It has a parallel twin engine, which I'm guessing is similar to the 250's inline twin, so power would be even across the RPM. It seems like a great choice, but I did my research, and I also came across the FZ6. The FZ6 seems to be a tad faster (above 8k RPM) with a similar comfortable riding position. I quickly began searching for 650R's and FZ6's in my area.

Update: I made this thread a couple of weeks ago when I was debating on picking up a silver FZ6 in my area. I ended up waiting a few weeks and picked up a red FZ6. So please disregard the '05 FZ6 I was considering. I now have a red '07 :).

I am test riding an '05 FZ6 tomorrow with around 3k miles on it! :D:D

I have a few questions that I hope could get answered!

1.) The seller is asking $3950 for the bike, so I put in an offer of $3500, and he said yes, that was his bottom line price so he'd accept the offer :D. Is $3500 a good deal for an '05 FZ6 with 3,000 miles? If it were an '07, I'd say it was a definite yes, but it's the older unrevised design, so I'm not sure :confused:.