FZ6 Wont Start

NOLA

Reaction score
Visit site
So I've searched the forum probably 40 times and found some good troubleshooting but have not been successful yet and all of the posts varied some from my situation. I am new to streetbikes and have just bought a used 2004 FZ6 with 22k miles. The bike cranked great for 3 or 4 days with no issues but I did not go out and ride it after cranking it. Then one day I went to crank it and it turns over fast, but will not actually start. I thought maybe it was just low voltage from cranking it and not riding it. So I tried to bump start it with no luck. I then lifted the tank and attached jumper cables from my truck to the bike and it is spinning over really fast but still without firing. I feel like this rules out the low voltage possibility. Next thing I noticed is that since I have been having issues, the fuel pump will not prime like usual when I put the key to the on position in the ignition. I have rocked the Run/Stop switch multiple times while turning the key on and off to try to get the bike to prime in case it was a faulty killswitch. When the switch is in the kill position it will not even let the bike spin over though, so I figured that wasn't the culprit. I have checked the EFI fuse, and others on the passenger side of the bike and they were all good. Another thing I noticed is that when I try to start the bike, the engine light will be solid for 2 seconds, then blink rapidly while trying to start, then when I stop trying to start it, it shuts off. I checked D61 and it gave back values of 12,30,46 and D2 gave a value of 3. So I pulled the tip sensor plug and turned the key on, then plugged it back in as recommended by someone in another post but it didn't appear to make a difference. This is my first bike and I haven't even been able to leave my apartment with it, so it is kind of frustrating. I am sure it is something simple considering it purred like a kitten the day before. The only thing I did differently the