FZ6 chain snapped need some advice

frostbite215

SLIMAGE
Reaction score
Visit site
Soooo.... Im new to riding and picked up my first bike this morning and I loved it..... Until I was doing 70 on the freeway and the chain snapped on me. Didnt lock up the tire or anything but instead what it did was get tangled up in the front part of the bike.. So I pull over and pop off the front little chain cover and turns out the chain actually broke off the bolt to the chain gaurd wich is connected to the transmission casing. So now I have a bearing staring at me and oil pouring out where the bolt snapped off the casing. Was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on the best fix for it, or prices that it may wind up costing me to fix. I'm a welder and was thinking of just welding the pieces back togeter and on but slightly afraid that it wont really hold. :confused: any helpfull info would be much appreciated. THXs guys

ChevyFazer

Redneck MacGyver
Reaction score
Visit site
Yes pics would help. Depending on what year bike you have it might be one with the front sprocket nut recall. If it is then perhaps the sprocket came loose and caused your problems.

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Not sure what your skill set is or what friends you keep but here is snap-shot of what you're up against. The output shaft needs replaced assuming the case isn't damaged a blown up or doner could be used if the expense of new is too much. . .

Pic #44 shows the sprocket and the output shaft it should be attached too!
https://plus.google.com/photos/1142...81/5174567829622044146?banner=pwa&gpsrc=pwrd1

IMG_0101.jpg

Of from here this should work too
https://plus.google.com/photos/1142...ms/5154166965616954081?banner=pwa&gpsrc=pwrd1

And take a look here - but put in your year. . .
Ronayers.com Microfiche Yamaha>Motorcycle>2009>FZ6RYY/FZ6RYCY/FZ6RYCW/FZ6RYW>TRANSMISSION
Qty = 1, PM: 20S-17411-00-00 AXLE, $98.01