Yo! Another new guy here

FZ6err

Reaction score
Visit site
What's up guys, I hope to learn a lot about my new bike from y'all! Here's the deal, I just bought a 2008 FZ6 w 5,500 miles on it! It has an aftermarket seat and exhaust. I don't know the seat info yet but the exhaust is a MIVV sport power for FZ6 (obviously). The CAT was NOT deleted (I thought that strange). It sounds great and runs pretty well for a bike that's been sitting idle for over a year (PO lost interest in riding for understandable reasons). It needs a good cleaning and the obviously fluid flushes. My question is, what are all the important areas I should pay special attention too? I've never owned a EFI bike so just want to know what tests I should run. I'm a machinist and engineering student so I'm pretty particular about things operating at their best. I just wanted introduce myself and see what you guys, or gals, have to say before reading the whole damn repair manual.

Paid 3,450 from a private owner for my FZ6
Other bike is a finely tuned 93 Suzuki GS500E

ShoopCE

Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Welcome!

With so few miles on the bike there's not much more to do. But check the tires. They could still be the originals and if so the rubber will be a bit harder than new ones. But if you're not gonna push hard through corners you can probably safely wear them out.

Consider changing the fork oil. Check for threads on here.

The engagement zone of the clutch is very narrow. You'll get used to it.

You might check the spark plug leads. If the caps can be turned on the wire more than a full rotation or so they might have burnt the connections to the wires. See a thread on here about plug caps and vibrations, by finalimpact - I think.

I was just at Port of Columbus airport this evening. Had to collect bags that went where they were supposed to go when I missed a connecting flight and ended up at PIT.