To buy or not to buy...

LockeClone

Reaction score
Visit site
I've been riding my 84 Ascot for a little over five years now (fantastic starter bike if anyone asks) And I'm ready for something a little more modern that I can tour on. I've ridden many bikes over the past few months and have fallen for the fz6.

Anyway, a nearby dealer just got a 2007 in with only 600 miles. They say the previous owner got pregnant shortly after buying it. It rides great and the only thing about it that makes it look like it didn't just come off the manufacturing floor is a little ding in the faring where a strap rubbed it wrong.

They're asking $5500

Also! I'm moving from Colorado to LA in January, only taking what I can fit in my car and one of those little U-haul trailers. My original plan is to leave the Ascot with the folks here in CO and then buy a bike the second I find one on the coast. BUT I WANT IT NOW!!!

Plus a 2007-2009 FZ6 is what I want.

Will I be able to find anything similar in LA is is this a buy that I need to take advantage of now?

Also money is a big factor here. If I were to get any bike right now it would probably be a 2012 ninja 650. the fazer is a very close second for much less money.

ChevyFazer

Redneck MacGyver
Reaction score
Visit site
For this time of year and with so few miles it seems like a pretty good deal. I mean hell that bike isn't even broke in yet, it's practically brand new!!! If you want it I'd say go for it!!! Of course if you hold out you can find great used ones for under $4k

And by the way Welcome to the best forum on the world wide interweb

banjoboy

Reaction score
Visit site
If'n it were me, I'd look elsewhere unless you can find out when it was 1st purchased, and that's relatively recent. (Say it's an '07 model 1st purchased 'n ridden in '10?) You really don't want a bike that's sat for 5 yrs.