Steering Alignment

gmickey2001

Super Moderator
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Hi everyone,

As you may know I crashed about 2 months ago. I just started riding the bike to work again and have noticed 2 things that make me think the steering alignment may be off.

1) When I am riding down the freeway going straight, the bars and steering head are aimed slightly to the right.
2) The left side of my front tire seems to have contact marks that are not present on the right side.

I have already checked and ruled out the fairing mount being bent and creating the illusion that the steering is off, and also ruled out the bars themselves being bent.

It looks as though the fork tube on the left side may be a few millimeters lower in the clamp but I can't be sure.

Can anyone offer some advice on identifying and correcting the problem?

TIA :confused:

Sawblade

Hopped up on Mountain Dew
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I'm thinking the forks shifted a little bit in the clamps.

Support the front of the bike by the header and loosen the fork tube clamps. Then twist the wheel a little to the right while holding the bars. If the height is off, now is the time to adjust that as well. Tighten the clamps back up to spec and ride around the block to see if the bars are straight.

Last edited:

Ashbone

Reaction score
Visit site