Shower curtain liner under cover?

CBRF3RIDER

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey guys
I was wondering if anyone has put one of those cheap clear plastic shower curtain liners underneath their covers during heavy rain? The reason Im asking is because next week I am going back to school, and living in the dorms forces me to keep my bike outside. I have a Tourmaster Select cover, but it leaks after a couple hours of rain rendering it pretty near useless. I kept my bike outside when I was in the dorms last year, but to be honest I didnt really care about my Kawasaki getting wet. I care ALOT more about my FZ6!! The Tourmaster cover is great for keeping the dew off in the morning, but not really much else. I am thinking that if I throw one of those shower curtain liners on top of my bike, then put my cover on it should keep my bike pretty dry. It also shouldnt scratch either. I really would rather not buy a new cover right now, so if anyone has tried this or has some input let me know! If not, Ill just give it a shot and let everyone know how it goes!:thumbup:

Norbert

crash tested
Reaction score
Visit site
if your bike is wet after a ride, and you cover it, you want the cover to breathe, so your bike can dry out. that's something to consider.

Grainbelt

Reaction score
Visit site
if your bike is wet after a ride, and you cover it, you want the cover to breathe, so your bike can dry out. that's something to consider.

Yep. My heavy duty Dowco cover keeps the rain off, but anything that splashes up off the ground gets the lower bits all wet. The cover has a plastic vent in it to help it breathe.

I'd far sooner buy a better cover than use something plasticky that will keep it wet and speed corrosion.

CBRF3RIDER

Reaction score
Visit site
Thanks for the responses guys