psychosomatic or something wrong !!

Pagey

Tiger Boy
Reaction score
Visit site
Hey all,

Let me begin by giving some background info.

One of the reasons for choosing the Fizzer was the due to the ease of ride the bike gave me. When you lean into corners you just 'point and squirt' and the bike does the rest for you.... lazy rider i know :Flash:

Last year whilst touring in Scotland i had a low speed 'offie'

I was taking in the scenes in Scotland saw a right hander too late leaned into it hit gravel in the middle of the road and ran into the rough. The bike threw me off at about 5-10 mph and laid to rest in the greenery.

When i picked the bike up and finished having the p*ss taking out of me by my mates i checked the bike and she had a dent on the downpipe and thats it !!! very lucky....

But now when i go into a right hander instead of the bike just leaning into the corner the handlebar wants to turn into it and i have to keep the bar from turning in which i have never done before.

I suppose my question is is it all in my head or could i have done some damage that cant be seen by the naked eye ie could i have damaged my forks or could i have unbalanced my front wheel.

I would be grateful for any help or advice :surrender::surrender::surrender:

Carlos840

Reaction score
Visit site
I am by no means an expert, but i was told that one should always realign their forks after any kind of accident.

Basically, just loosen the top fork clamps, retighten to specs.

Loosen everything down from the top fork clamp, ie lower fork clamp, pinch bolt, wheel axle.
Press your suspension down a few times to let things self align.

Tighten to specs in the correct order. Lower fork clamp, wheel axle, pinch bolt.

Also make sure your bars are not bent, they bend easily and it can be hard to see.

A couple videos on the subject if you want to see it done:

I think it is worth having a look at the Dave Moss serie "Two Clicks Out", a lot of cool information in it.