Not enough charging voltage

moto_fz6n

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello guys,

I searched the different threads on this subject but i was't able to find a solution for my problem. I am new to motorcycling so I am not yet familiar with its electrical/mechanical problems but I want to learn as much as possible ( preferably without having them :)) )

The problem I have with my bike is that at idle I have a reading of 12.4 V charging the battery. As I go up in RPM , at around 5000, the voltage increases to a max of 13.5 V . ( single head light - high beam, fan off)

Shouldn't the voltage have a constant value between 14.2-14.9 from idle to 5000 rpm ?

The tests:

-The test were done after 1-2 hours since I arrived from work, so the engine was still warm, and the outside temperature was > 28 degrees C. / 82.4 F

1) Initially I thought the regulator rectifier is faulty so I unplugged it from the bike and started measuring the diodes. I got the 0 V , when it was supposed to be, and values around 0.543 0.550 0.551 when it was the case. (can't remember the exact way I used the multimeter probes but I followed the standard procedure for measuring the diodes. Are the values ok ?

2) Then I went to the generator.

2.1)
First test: I checked if there was any continuity between the 3 white wires and the negative terminal of the battery (and the frame/screws any thing that could have been considered a ground) ---> the result: there wasn't.

2.2) Second test: I measured the resistance between the 3 wires, the values were equal, and around 0.5 ohm / 0.6 ohm -----> observation: I know I should get a reading of: 0.22-0.34 ohm at 20 C. Are these values ok ? considering that the outside temperature was greater then 28 degrees C (82.4 F), and the engine was still warm ?

2.3) Third test: With the bike running, and the regulator rectifier disconnected I measured the AC voltage between the 3 white wires from the generator.
The values were: 1250 RPM ~ 20 VAC
5000 RPM ~ 80 VAC