New member intro

shamous

Reaction score
Visit site
(stands up in the middle of the crowd)

my name is shane i live in the bay area of California.. I have been riding for a few years, my first bike was a oil cooler gsxr 750 street fighter, then a old school alsmot top gun zx10, then a klr which was very good to me up to 155k then the single cyclinder crank gave out, my last bike was a 07 drz400SM which was a great bike but was not a good fit for me.

now i am shopping for a FZ6 with the money from the sale of my drz... trying to read up what i can as far as popular mods, specific maintence needs and faults, if there is a year to shy away from or one to try and get.

i look forward to many miles on my new bike when it finds me, comutting to my new job where ever that might be, oh yea 2-wheels are the only transportation i have had for years so i am not a fair weather hardley rider. Clear my head rides, rides with freinds. very anxious.

any tips for me well be appreciated, i will continues reading stickys and trolling the threads.

Zealot

The Village Idiot
Reaction score
Visit site
Hope you know what trolling actually means, heh.

What I've gathered in my short time here:
-Bike is resilient and can last well up towards 30,40,50 thousand miles or more if you treat it properly and follow maintenance procedures. One of the most common complaints are a far out clutch bite point, snappy throttle response, and heavy clutch. All of which are easy to handle once you're used to it, but can be made less prominent through a number of simplistic fixes.
-You'll ideally want an 06 or 07 model onwards (I'm think 07 more so, but could be wrong) since they are the S2 version which has a number of quality of life changes to it. Look it up on Wikipedia and read the model history

Best of luck in your search!

2nd childhood

Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site