New Guy, New Bike

FZ6err

Reaction score
Visit site
What's up guys, I hope to learn a lot about my new bike from y'all! Here's the deal, I just bought a 2008 FZ6 w 5,500 miles on it! It has an aftermarket seat and exhaust. I don't know the seat info yet but the exhaust is a MIVV sport power for FZ6 (obviously). The CAT was NOT deleted (I thought that strange). It sounds great and runs pretty well for a bike that's been sitting idle for over a year (PO lost interest in riding for understandable reasons). It needs a good cleaning and the obviously fluid flushes. My question is, what are all the important areas I should pay special attention too? I've never owned a EFI bike so just want to know what tests I should run. I'm a machinist and engineering student so I'm pretty particular about things operating at their best. I just wanted to introduce myself and see what you guys, or gals, have to say before reading the whole damn repair manual.

Paid 3,450 from a private owner for my FZ6
Other bike is a finely tuned 93 Suzuki GS500E

agf

Go Naked- Its liberating
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Hey welcome from down under. :welcome:
You will get plenty of advice from this forum, we have electrical experts, people that can give you internal engine mods and folk that will play around with looks.
I'm one of the latter, but will dabble a little with advice from everyone, and thats what you'll find here plenty of sound advice...

you probably already know this but better to read it again than find out the hardway....
So, apart from fluids and a good clean, you should have a good look at the rubber. at 5,500 miles, have the tyres been replaced and can you read the date. Tyres have a four digit coded on the wall that give the year and week of that year they were made.