New FZ6 owner- Long rambling post

Xlrrp

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi,

I thought I would share my past two months experience as a new (to me) 2004 FZ6 owner and some things I've done and/or learned. A bit about me, 49 year old from California, but moved to Washougal, WA 8+ years ago and love it here.

I have had more bikes than I can count over the years with the the last two being a 1200 Sportster and a DR650. I sold both before moving and have not been on a bike for 8 years until buying the FZ6. I'm not an expert by any means, but I have some riding experience (weirdest bike I've owned was a Triumph Bonneville with reversed shifter/brake..... never could get used to that).

After watching "Long Way Round" and "Long Way Down", I got the itch to get back into motorcycles. I have been driving a Yukon 55 miles a day to/from work and that has added up to nearly $3500/year in fuel costs. The reduced fuel bill would pay for a bike.... at least that's what I told my wife:)

After looking for a few weeks on Craigslist, I found my FZ. I was able to get it for $2675 along with a Shoei helmet, tank bag and tail bag. Seemed like a great deal. BTW, I've never wanted a sport bike but I really liked the looks of the bike and couldn't pass up the deal.

So, after riding it for a week or so I hated it! Front end dived really bad when slowing down, bars were not comfortable, clutch was goofy and the shifting sucked. I was cold in the mornings and couldn't see out of my helmet due to the fogging. Riding in Portland, Oregon I was very concerned with some idiot who may be texting running into the back of me at a stop (happened to me in my Jeep). The whole thing seemed like a bad idea.

Instead of admitting to my wife that I made a poor decision, I decided to address the issues and that is why I am writing this post. Maybe someone else is thinking about doing something similar and this may help them decide for/against it.