New Bike rider (putting on flame suit!)

Kassassin

Reaction score
Visit site
So I have been racing Bikes for a couple years and riding them most my life(pedal bikes). I love 2 wheels. I took my msf course for my lisence a while ago but never had the need or money to buy a bike( but I wanted one like all hell)
Well, I finally had the money and the reason(lots of commuting). I picked up a *gasp* fz6 as my first bike. Took it safe out of the lot(wearing full gear. I != squid) ~Two weeks later I am loving the bike. Super docile(car like) under 7k rpms which makes it really easy to deal with, and super fun when you occasionally decide to have some fun. I have like 500 miles on it now did my first oil change and the oil looked horrible. Lots of metal flakes and a very mucky brown color. Lubed the chain.. checked tires(which the dealer over inflated the rear to 56psi).. etc. Awesome bike. Exactly what I was looking for even though I walked into the dealer wanting an r6s(and glad I didnt get it)
I am assuming that the bike racing took care of a lot of the 2 wheel dynamics because it came really easily to me. My biggest issue was learning to use a manual.
Anyways! new to the forum. Reading around. Liking the tips and help. Felt like saying hello. Even if my entrance can possibly make a new rider get the 600 he probably shouldn't get.

Questions: When should I start worrying about chain tension, clutch cables, brake fluid?

shuckle

Reaction score
Visit site
Welcome and Congratulations on a great purchase. :welcome:

You will want to keep an eye on those things all the time. Just like on your bicycle you probably take a look at your chain, pedals and brakes every time you get on, you'll want to do the same for your FZ6.

Check your tire pressure often (like every other ride)
Check your chain about the same (I usually just lift it in the centre with my boot to see how it looks for tension (I have very dirty boots :)))