New Bike = GREAT!

nksmfamjp

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm new to the bike and new to the forum.

I've had my FZ6 for 2 weeks and ~650 miles now. This thing is great. Got the 600 mi service done with Yamalube and Yamaha filter for $150. Not bad.

Bike rides real nice in all weather. I was afraid it had too much power for rain days, but seems fine so far. I've been in the rain 3 times do far.

So far this is great. It looks like I'll see over 45 mpg this tank as I'm at a half tank with a little over 100 miles on the OD. that is way better than my 99 Shadow was.

I think I need to adjust the shifter and brake position again. It is still not quite right for me at 6'3".

rjo3491

Missing The Fiz-Sometimes
Reaction score
Visit site
Congratulations and ride safe!

Next oil change, buy yourself a pan, filter wrench and funnel (tools if you need them). The oil and filter will run you less than $30.

ice

Reaction score
Visit site
Congratulations and ride safe!

Next oil change, buy yourself a pan, filter wrench and funnel (tools if you need them). The oil and filter will run you less than $30.

I agree. If someone charged you $150. for an oil change, they ripped you in a major way.

1 - Supertech 7317 oil filter from WW, about $4.

3 Quarts of Motorcycle Specific 4cycle oil from Auto Zone about $4. ea.

If you have a wrench and oil drain pan, you are talking $20.

Oh yea, the FZ6 is a great bike.

MHS

Reaction score
Visit site
My 6 month service cost me $180.

I took it up to them on a Tuesday, they said they'd have it done Saturday. Saturday they called and said they were busy and couldn't get to it. I got it back the following Wednesday.

On the phone they told me they'd give me a 10% discount on the parts for taking longer than they were supposed to. When I got there to pick it up it wasn't taken off my bill, but it would have been like a $3 discount so I didn't bother talking about it.