Neutral to 1st gear makes bike kinda jump?

rsmith2072

2007 FZ6
Reaction score
Visit site
Hello I just bought my 2007 FZ6 a few days ago. It only has 8,500 miles on it. So i am new at the FZ6 forums. I have searched this and haven't found any threads on it yet. The bike shifts pretty good through all gears but when its in neutral and i shift into 1st gear it does it kinda hard. It makes the bike kinda jump a little. So my question is this normal or is there an adjustment to be made or is it an oil problem? Thanks in advance for any support!

Erci

Howie Mandel's evil twin
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Totally normal. Having said that.. do change the oil (motorcycle-safe synthetic works great on fz6) and make sure clutch fully disengages when squeezed.

darius

Never stop exploring
Reaction score
Visit site
Welcome, Blue Clan. Nice bike.

A solid, but reassuring "thunk" when you kick it into 1st is normal. The bike might push forward slightly, especially if the engine is cold. Pulling in the clutch a few times to loosen it up might help, but it's not a problem.

Be sure to check your tires for age, wear and I'd recommend changing all the fluids.

PFD023

Reaction score
Visit site
trying to find the article in Cycle World about the very same issue....I think it was in the Service section.....still searching The mechanic/editor (Paul Dean) explained in full detail why and how it happens. Wet clutch and the plates tend to stick together due to the oil (wet clutch)......two very smooth surfaces which are wet with oil will kinda "suck' to each other......heavier the oil the more they "suck".....you are breaking the plates apart when you shift. I think they refer to it as "oil drag"....plates still spinning while you try to put it into gear. Do a search online and you'll see dang near every make of bike has riders concerned about it.
Article by Paul Dean said not to worry at all.....completely normal and expected.