Mechanical failures while riding?

Clay350

Reaction score
Visit site
Im fairly new to riding. Have about a year under my belt and 6K on my FZ6.
I know the road conditions, other drivers, and my decisions are the main concern while riding. One other thing I try to pay attention to is how the bike is doing mechanically. I worry that a mechanical failure could cause big problems while riding.

What are some common or possible mechanical failures to keep an eye on? My first thought would be tires. Is there anything else I should pay attention to?

Clay

ChevyFazer

Redneck MacGyver
Reaction score
Visit site
Your chain should also receive regular maintenance, and also going over exposed nuts and bolts looking for anything loose that shouldn't be is a good idea too.

greg

UK Luchador
Reaction score
Visit site
make sure your chain is properly maintained (not too tight, not too lose, and check for tight links), if this comes off at speed it can lock the back wheel up and seriously maim you

checking for loose bolts is another one, i've seen one guy forget to titghten his axle nut and nearly had his rear wheel come off, another guy didn't tighten his brake calipers properly and sufferred what can only be described as "scrotal trauma" after his brakes failed before a hairpin on track.

other things are to check your tyres are safe and correctly inflated, and check the brakes work

other things include checking the oil, coolant, making sure there's no other leaks, etc.

there's a lot you can check and it'#smuch easier to do on a bike than a car. most things won't injure you, but if there's something that can interfere with the brakes or wheels then you need to be aware

JimStl

Reaction score
Visit site
Slightly off the topic of mechanical failures, but to make sure that ones cargo is secure is important as well. I had a tie down clamp come loose and the Dacron strap could have easily gotten twisted up in the back tire. My fault but the lesson was learned.

ChevyFazer