Smooth up-shifting

Bogdanphb

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello guys,

Been riding my FZ6 S2 for a while now, I started to get used with what she wants and how to ride it smoothly, love it.
At the moment gear shifting got my attention and I started practicing till I reach the best version of it.
However, when I go from the 1st gear to 2nd I can't seem to find a solution to change without having that clunky sound. From 2nd till 6th I can do it smoothly with no sound whatsoever.
I tried the exact same technique I use for other gears, preload the shifter before pulling the clutch and blip the throttle, with no success.

Any suggestions, can you change without the clunky sound ?

Thank you!

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm not sure I know what you are describing. I know almost every bike I hear sounds like they are being slammed when put in first at a stop. I have switched to neutral and coasted, then back to second when it turned out I didn't have to stop and THAT often sounds loud. Maybe if you are "granny shifting" (taking a long time to go between gears) between the two? I don't see many people riding bikes doing much of that though.
Normally I shift from 1 to 2 at about 5k rpms on a slowish or average acceleration, and it is pretty smooth. Anything below I might get some complaints from the bike, but I don't recall them being clunky sounding. More like the engine saying I don't have enough torque for this at this low speed and rpm.

Bogdanphb

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm not sure I know what you are describing. I know almost every bike I hear sounds like they are being slammed when put in first at a stop. I have switched to neutral and coasted, then back to second when it turned out I didn't have to stop and THAT often sounds loud. Maybe if you are "granny shifting" (taking a long time to go between gears) between the two? I don't see many people riding bikes doing much of that though.