Had an SV650S will I be disappointed with a FZ6?

jeff2015

Reaction score
Visit site
I had an SV650S and loved it until a driver cut me off and I laid it down. It ended up being totaled so I have to get another bike. I've called around looking for another sv650s but noone seems to have any or they're outrageously priced and that's the only reason they're still available. I've started to look at the Yamaha FZ6 and I have enough with the insurance check to go out and get the FZ6 right now - and I've found one at a really good price. The only this is I've heard mixed reviews about the FZ6 so I'm kinda uneasy about buying one. I mostly drive on the highways 55+ and I like the upright riding position better on the FZ but I'm still unsure. I've only had the SV for a few months so I'm still a beginner so I want to make sure the FZ6 would be a good bike for me to get or I don't know if I would be disappointed coming off the SV650S....

There are a number of people here who had or still have their SV650 and prefer the FZ6 moreso. I rode for awhile on my buddy's SV until I got my FZ6 and I appreciate my bike more than his. You will notice the difference between the V-twin versus the in-line four, the four definitely kicks arse anytime. The best part is the riding position, I can "SEE" more with the FZ6 with it's more upright position.

From the reviews I have read comparing the two, the SV650 has more HP in the low RPM's than the FZ. The FZ has 10 or 20 more HP total but that is in the high RPM range. If you ride mainly on the hi way it shouldn't matter. Other than that I think the FZ is rated better all around than the SV. I personally think the FZ is plenty fast enough. The SV power falls off bad at higher RPM's the FZ has lots at hi RPM. I have never ridden a SV but that is what the reviews I have read say. Personally I love my FZ. My guess is that you will to.