Frame sliders good or bad?

stfrailey

Reaction score
Visit site
I am new to riding and just bought my 06 FZ6. I had never noticed or realized what frame sliders were until I asked the seller about them when he brought the bike over. They instantly seemed like a great idea and I couldn't understand why every bike didn't have them unless for aesthetic reasons.

Then I took my MSF beginner course and talked to the instructor. He explained that frame sliders and prevent cosmetic damage at very low speed drops (which I've already had) but can by a curse at high speeds since they are bolted to the frame and can bend/twist the frame when otherwise just the fairings, etc. would be destroyed.

Any experience and/or feedback with this? Should I take them off after I get confident enough to not drop the bike stopped/slow turns?

JONJONsocal

UNKNOWN HOON
Reaction score
Visit site
I am new to riding and just bought my 06 FZ6. I had never noticed or realized what frame sliders were until I asked the seller about them when he brought the bike over. They instantly seemed like a great idea and I couldn't understand why every bike didn't have them unless for aesthetic reasons.

Then I took my MSF beginner course and talked to the instructor. He explained that frame sliders and prevent cosmetic damage at very low speed drops (which I've already had) but can by a curse at high speeds since they are bolted to the frame and can bend/twist the frame when otherwise just the fairings, etc. would be destroyed.

Any experience and/or feedback with this? Should I take them off after I get confident enough to not drop the bike stopped/slow turns?