Do you turn brights off in traffic?

Clay350

Reaction score
Visit site
I am fairly new to riding. Got my fz6 month ago. I would like to ride with my brights on all the time at night. Does it annoy other drivers like a regular vehicle with brights? Is it illegal. Does anyone else always ride with brights?

Clay

Full Throttle

Reaction score
Visit site
I only ride with my brights on during the day to help me stand out in traffic. At night its too bright so I only use it like I would a car.

D

Dave.TX

This is straight out of the Minnesota Driver Manual page 70:

"When you are within 1,000 feet of an oncoming vehicle, or following
another vehicle at a distance of 200 feet or less, your headlights must
be set on low beam."

Here in Texas the distance is a little different at 400 yards (1200 feet).

From my experience seeing motorcycles at night the more modern ones have pretty bright headlights and high beams, much better than in the 1980's. Yes, motorcycle high beams are annoying when they're close enough. I would prefer everyone be courteous to other drivers by dimming their high beams and about 95% of people do (around here at least).

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
:welcome:to the forum and riding!

The light on your bike that has the bright beam also has a low beam but it is not wired from the factory. You can modify it to work and have an operational High/Low beam. This way both lamps will work at night giving better visibility and added light with out having the high beam on. When you want the high beam on it will properly switch off the low beam and turn on the high beam.

Sith Lord

Reaction score
Visit site