Best way to extend wires for rear turn signals?

phario

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm a bit of an amateur when it comes to mechanical/electrical work, but anyways---have to learn sometime.

Some of you may know that installing the Givi PLX360 side cases requires the turn signals to be moved backwards, and this is a problem because the wiring needs to be elongated. Apparently, some people have managed to bypass that by drilling some holes in the fender, but unfortunately I can't find the pictures.

1. Thread showing some pictures of extensions
  2. Post about drilling holes

I had a look back there, and I wasn't sure what was the best way to attempt to elongate the wires was. Here are two photos.

WxkGv0c.jpg

QkbAcDW.jpg

The second photo showing the inside of the bulb container is hard to see, but basically there's little chance you can cut the wires within the container. You have to cut the wire from outside the container. Outside the container, the wires (I think two of them) are within a black rubber tubing. I'm not sure what's the best way of proceeding.

Do I just snip the black tubing haphazardly from underneath the bike? Or should I try and unbolt more things and access the wiring from deeper. I've not 'opened' the bike past this, so I'm not sure where the wiring goes.

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I would try to leave the oem sheathing intack out by signal for moisture protection.

Determine the wire gauge size, buy some wire of high strand count (better quality) as it resists breaking from vibes, get some butt connectors and shrink tube. Cut extend as needed. Insert an ample length of shrink tube to cover splice area, crimp new wire to old, give it a quick pull test ( it should hold 5 to 10 lb load easily), cover with shrink tube and heat to shrink... on to next wire.