My FZ1 bar mod experience

SamuraiMark

n00b++
Reaction score
Visit site
My Fizzer: 2006 FZ6 in Fastest Red, Top Sellerie seat, Givi touring windscreen, Metzeler Z8 rubber, Speigler brake lines.

I've never liked my FZ6 bars. I always found the angle of the bars was such that only the outside edge of my hands was in contact with the bar unless I consciously flexed my wrists out. Any amount of weight on my hands quickly got real uncomfortable. So I decided to give the FZ1 bar mod a shot.

I ordered an FZ1 bar (Part # 2D1-26111-00) through my local Yamaha dealer. There were cheaper options but those options were in the States and I'm in Canada and Canada Customs just loves charging customs fees on everything ("Free trade? No, no ... it's not for Citizen. Free trade is only for BigCo.")

I am not a mechanic. I don't have a garage to work in. But after spending a prodigious amount at my mechanic's shop prepping the bike for my upcoming trip to Prince Edward Island, I thought I'd do this myself. And everyone here says it's an easy mod, which turned out to be true... mostly.

First up I took some time to loosen the bar end weights (8mm allen key) and handlebar bolts (any flathead screwdriver to remove the caps if you still have them, 6mm allen key for the bolts). They were all pretty tight and I needed some extra leverage to get them moving, for which I was able to use a component from the FZ6 toolkit.

My Haynes manual suggested removing the windshield but I did not find that this was necessary. I did remove the interior plastics. You'll need to do this unless you have a stubby #3 Phillips screwdriver. I don't and the only way to get at the screws for the controls is to create some clearance under the controls by removing the plastics.