Battery, stator, or rectifier/regulator?

OneCheekRider

One Cheek On The Seat!
Reaction score
Visit site
Been having intermittent starting issues since I started riding this season. I replaced the original battery in November and had no issues when I put the bike away at the end of December. I do use grip heaters and had the battery on a tender during storage.

I ride to work everyday and after a day or two the battery could not start the engine without help from the charger first thing in the morning.

Today, after letting it sit for the past 3 days due to rain/snow and cold temps, I expected a no start, but instead she fired right up. I then rode ~25 miles with my heaters at 100% and stopped to refuel. A quick refuel as it was cold and she wouldn't start again! I push started to finish my ride to work.

I thought I had a bad battery (still under warranty) but this mornings behavior seems really odd.

What do you think? Where should I look first?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I would gain access to your battery (SAE plug, etc if equipped).

With a volt meter, your battery should be around 12.8 volts sitting. While running, the voltage should go up above 12.8 to approx 14 volts at a max 5,000 RPM's if the system is indeed charging. Idle should be about 1,300 to break even or so with the charging system (without the grips on)..

The battery, especially new, should NOT be dying that quickly. You may very well have an excess draw while turned off (killing the battery)

Post #5: http://www.600riders.com/forum/fz6-general-discussion/49904-bike-wont-start-again.html#post547347

goes into detail if the charging system fails...

Has any new work been done to the bike just prior to the issues???

OneCheekRider

One Cheek On The Seat!
Reaction score
Visit site