A little discouraged, hit a car today

shpanky

Reaction score
Visit site
I was driving down a busy one way street in the center lane. The car in front of me was driving along and we were about to go through an intersection (that was green by the way). She slams on her brakes so she could turn right at the intersection at the last minute...I slam on mine, but of course, I glide right into her back left fender, scraping it up a bit. My bike now has a destroyed front cowling and a busted headlight.

I'm going to take this to insurance but I'm still pissed off. I know I'm probably going to be blamed at-fault for this, but seriously, I was caged by a bus so had to move up, and then she tries to cut into a long line of people attempting to turn right. I did NOT expect that at all especially with no vehicles in front of her.

I'm pretty new at this and dropped my bike a couple times but I'm getting a little discouraged. I LOVE riding my bike and I don't want to stop riding if I can.

cap'n

Reaction score
Visit site
It's no fun to hear it, and you probably already realize it, but you could've avoided it by leaving a bigger cushion of space. Glad you're ok, don't give up, and sorry to be the guy who said it but it makes you a better rider in the long run to realize that juuuust about every accident except for deer and turkeys was avoidable if you'd done something differently. Get it fixed and get back up there.

callmegandhi

IM4TH
Reaction score
Visit site
Don't get discouraged! Chalk this up to a learning experience. I've been riding for 25 years and I'm only thirty seven! If I could only count how many times I wrecked the dirt bike at my grandpa's farm! I've also wrecked my 82 Honda nighthawk when I was in high school, and in 2002 crashed my almost new Suzuki SV650! I'm still riding!! :rockon:

Reaction score
Visit site
It's no fun to hear it, and you probably already realize it, but you could've avoided it by leaving a bigger cushion of space.