1st stunt attempted... FAIL. Is this fixable?

dcdruck

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi gang, I've been a member on the forum for a few months now, but this is my first post. I wish it didn't have to be under these circumstances...

Don't ask me why, because I don't have an answer, but for whatever reason I decided that last night would be the night that I try to get to front wheel off the ground for the first time. I've been riding for 3+ years now, and have never felt the urge to try before, but for whatever reason I did last night.

Anyway, I gave it way too much throttle and the bike went vertical in a heartbeat sending me off the back and onto the pavement. Other than a 1"x2" road rash on my hip, I'm in ship-shape. I was wearing a helmet, jeans, leather motorcycle jacket, backpack, and gloves.

Both sides of the bike contacted the pavement at some point. I had frame sliders which seems to protect most of the bike except. There are a few scratches and I need a new foot peg on the left side, but otherwise it's in much better shape than I would have expected. The only thing that serious broke was part of the frame; on the right side the portion of the frame where the bolt goes through into the engine block broke completely. I removed the bolt and frame slider, but now I'm wondering if this is something that is fixable by taking it to someone who is qualified to work on motorcycle frames to weld it back on or if the entire frame is trash. Here's a picture taken with my Droid to show you what I mean:
brokenframe.jpg

I want to know if there's a chance this can be repaired without compromising the structural integrity of the frame before I start buying the other misc parts that need replacing, like the foot peg.

I know this was a dumb thing to do, and I will think twice (and a third time) the next time an idiotic idea like that pops into my mind.