when do i change tyres. distance or age?

elitazzy

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi . just heard that tyres should be changed every 6 years regardless if they are worn or not. any ideas?
thx
eli.

FIZZER6

The Angry Blue Mantis
Reaction score
Visit site
Whichever comes first!

I personally feel my life is worth more than risking it on 5+ year old tires to replace them in a couple months instead of today!

It's not so much that the rubber gets hard and won't stick as well on old tires it's the fact that old tires are more likely to rupture when you hit a pot hole or debris in the road.

VEGASRIDER

100K Mile Member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I'm no scientist or have any technical data but in my opinion, even 5 or 6 year old motorcycle tires, especially the performance that a FZ6 can produce is well beyond it's shelf life in terms of grip. We are talking about rubber, and you are on two wheels, not four. Factor in the production date rather than your install date, your tires are even older.

In my opinion, anything beyond 3 years you would probably notice a deterioration in terms of the quality of grip.

Erci

Howie Mandel's evil twin
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I'm no scientist or have any technical data but in my opinion, even 5 or 6 year old motorcycle tires, especially the performance that a FZ6 can produce is well beyond it's shelf life in terms of grip. We are talking about rubber, and you are on two wheels, not four. Factor in the production date rather than your install date, your tires are even older.

In my opinion, anything beyond 3 years you would probably notice a deterioration in terms of the quality of grip.

Agree 100%. 3 seasons is my limit too.

PhotoAl

Reaction score
Visit site