To leather or to textile? This is the Question!

cooper01

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello, my name is Richard. I am about to buy my first bike and I have finally narrowed it down to the FZ6. This is not the point. I have my helmet and now need to get a jacket. I really like the look of leather, but they are expensive compared to what has been explained as a comparable textile jacket. My question is, what is the deal with leather and getting it wet in the rain? I see lots of jackets labeled as doing well in the rain. Is this true, are there leather jackets, or is there some coating you can apply that will seal them?
I know there are is another thread with this question, but I would also like to ask your general opinion about the leather vs. textile debate. I know my riding needs have something to do with this so I will go into it a little. I am a doctoral student at Oklahoma State University. I will be using the bike for a daily commuter to and from school. On the occasional weekend I would like to take it for a nice morning ride. I, being a poor student, don't have enough to get more than one set of gear at present. Please give me your ideas. Thank you very much in advance!!!

You can get a hybrid jacket if you really like the look and or feel of leather. I have several jackets, all in some version of 600D textile. I have read some studies that say that modern textiles are approaching and/or are about to surpass the abrasion resistance of leather. If you need a all around jacket, look for ones for removable liners. It's going to be up to you to decide in what conditions you will ride in and base your gear choices off of that, cold weather, rain, ect. It's a heated debate for sure, but one thing is for sure:

Whatever you decide on leather or textile - you will get what you pay for.

This is to say that when given the choice to spend a little extra for quality, do it. Cheap gear will fall apart, and won't ever protect you to the fullest extent.