Throttle seems Different Today: Help

GuantanamoShrey

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi guys,

I am pretty new to riding, just a month in and I have not had any problems with my 2005 fz6n.

today I took the bike to work and rode it since i do some traveling. After I got back to the office and left it out and came back to it the throttle response seemed a little bit weird, disconnected and slow. It doesnt snap back too quickly . I have recorded and posted up some videos to show you.

Can you guys tell me if this is a problem I can fix on my own? This only happened today and seems weird because my emergency switch was off, and I never turn it off. Hopefully someone didnt tamper with it. Parked it in an office parking lot in a generally nice area too.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yv0mp_wOdwU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wG0Dw5MYv5E

Thank You!

Erci

Howie Mandel's evil twin
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site

Based on this vid, looks to me like the grip is hanging on something. It could be the cables, but I'm guessing either the grip is pushing up against controls or bad end or the plastic throttle sleeve (which sits under throttle grip) is hanging up on the bar.

I'd start by looking over the grip to make sure clearance is good between controls and bar end. If it looks OK, I'd undo the controls and slide the plastic sleeve out and check under that.. check both throttle cables by hand to make sure they slide freely and snap back.

Let's see what everyone else thinks.

GuantanamoShrey

Reaction score
Visit site
Based on this vid, looks to me like the grip is hanging on something. It could be the cables, but I'm guessing either the grip is pushing up against controls or bad end or the plastic throttle sleeve (which sits under throttle grip) is hanging up on the bar.