Thinking about getting FZ6 or FZ1, opinions!

Jerm

Reaction score
Visit site
Okay, here's the deal. I'm 29 (almost 30, noooooo) and guess I'm going through a pre-midlife crisis. I've owned an FZR600 for 3 years and have had my current 2002 YZF600r for 6 years now. Looking to get a bike with a little more upright riding position. Originally I was looking at a honda 919, then a Kawasaki Z1000. Have always liked Yamaha's (obviously) but for some reason just wasn't real keen on the looks of the FZ6 or FZ1, but but after seeing the pics of the FZ1-N I pretty much decided I'd get an FZ and do the Euro naked conversion. Best looking naked IMO.

I now need to decide whether I should get an FZ1 or be a good sensible adult and get an FZ6. I'm 5'10 200lbs and ride usually ride with my wife who's 5'2'' and 110lb.

I have been riding motorcycle's for over 8 years so I'm pretty sure I can handle the power. I don't do wheelie's or go crazy speeds and always wear full gear and have felt at times that I just wish my YZF600r would have a little more power. Not all the times, just some. Any input on the acceleration difference between a 2002 YZF600r and a 2006 or 2007 FZ6?

Any comments on a FZ1 versus FZ6 for me and my situation? I have the money for either (willing to spend around $6,000).

Last edited:

dean owens

Hippopotomonstrosesquiped
Elite Member
Reaction score
www.ccf-unc.org
i love the fz6 but based on what you said i'd go for the fz1. if it were just you i'd say the fz6. it has plenty of power. but adding your wife to the picture i'd go ahead and get the bigger bike. on top of more power you have adjustable suspension.

i've never sat on an fz1 so i can't say... but i'm guessing it's a little more "sport" with the flat bars than the "standard" fz6 with our bars. but i think eric will chim in and give some more detailed info. and he'll probably tell you to go with an fz1 as well. :D

Jerm

Reaction score
Visit site