Stalling the engine

davcro

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi, I have just one small question that is bothers me.
I'm a fresh driver and I occassionaly stall the engine by releasing the clutch too soon. Does it do any damage to the engine. The bike just stops without any jumping (Rodeo :D )
pls rply

Jedi

Pillion Boy no more!!!
Reaction score
Visit site
Nope, no damage at all. Just fire it up again and let the clutch out slowly, these bikes do have a bit of an on-off clutch movement especially when new.

necrotimus

Stop looking at my title!
Reaction score
Visit site
Stalling the engine alot can result in a dead battery though. If you are puttering around a parking lot practicing for a day and keep stalling you could ultimately find you have a dead battery the next day. I believe the standard belief is the battery will start recharging best above 4k rpms.

davcro

Reaction score
Visit site
I was wondering because it has happened to me more than 10 times( I've stopped counting :D). So you say no damage, great, I've started to worry that I had damaged the engine and I hate that feeling of doing something wrong especially to my Fazer.

When I divide it with the mileage it it comes out that I stall it approximately once every 100-120 miles. Nothing to worry??

Last edited:

blitzcraig

Premium Member
Reaction score
Visit site
i did the same thing plenty of times when i first got my bike. the problem was i was not rolling on the throttle when engaging the clutch, and sometimes i was in second gear.

dako81

FZ Rider
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
You should be fine, but you should really go to a parking lot and practice some clutch control.