Pointy tread wear on front tire

RobberRog

Reaction score
Visit site
I am concerned about the tread pattern on my 2007 FZ6. I mainly ride on streets and I'm not an aggressive rider. Is this bad riding habits, improper tire pressure or worn bearings? If you haven't notice I'm not that good with mechanical topics either. Thanks in advance.

Roger

I will post pics for you to see.

chaskell27

Reaction score
Visit site
The tread looks like it is down to the wear bars and then some. I would get a new tire and quickly. Blowing the rear tire is bad enough at speed but the front tire is nothing to screw with. That being said it does look like a bit of a strange wear pattern.

dantrigg

Reaction score
Visit site
I am concerned about the tread pattern on my 2007 FZ6. I mainly ride on streets and I'm not an aggressive rider. Is this bad riding habits, improper tire pressure or worn bearings? If you haven't notice I'm not that good with mechanical topics either. Thanks in advance.

Roger

I will post pics for you to see.

It looks like low tire pressure to me. I had my first BT-021 do the same thing to me when I didn't keep a close eye on the tire pressure. Shortly after I put it on we took a trip to Branson, about 5 hours the long way. After we got there I noticed major wear that looked, not as bad, but, similar to your pictures. I checked the tire pressure and I had about 25lbs. I have been keeping air pressure in mine about 36lbs on the second one and I have been getting good wear patterns since. If you search the BT-021 some other people have recommended running higher pressures than the yamaha spec in order to get good life out of the BT-021.

RJ2112

Reaction score
www.etsy.com