Please give opinions about ATGATT

Skybow388

Reaction score
Visit site
So here I am. I'm 19 I'm a full time college student who works full time and rides a 2006 fz6. I strongly believe gear saves lives. Here's my dilemma. I cannot afford gear. I often ride in shorts t shirt and tennis shoes. A local guy I know told me without gear bikes are certain death. I argued with him and told him I couldn't afford it. He told me I might as well stop riding. I totally disagree. All I can afford at the moment is to have my hjc snell approved helmet. And icon gloves. I know plenty of you guys practice wearing everything all the time. In your personal opinions was he right telling me that I'm stupid for riding without it? I would wear it but my budget and bills and such do not allow me to. Please give me input thanks
-Sky

2006 faster blue fz6

yamihoe

Professional test dummy
Reaction score
Visit site
at least go to goodwill or a thrift store and get a leather jacket....its better than nothing, and at least wear pants.
im guilty of squidding it (my commute is 2 miles round trip and Im lucky if I make it to 3rd gear....) but whenever I go ANYWHERE else I put pants and my jacket on....

When I went down last year in the mountains I hopped up without a scratch on me, one hell of a headache, but no cuts or bruises. My joe rocket jacket saved me from all of that, and I went over the bars onto my head/shoulder.

Last edited:

iviyth0s

Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
at least go to goodwill or a thrift store and get a leather jacket....its better than nothing, and at least wear pants.
im guilty of squidding it (my commute is 2 miles round trip and Im lucky if I make it to 3rd gear....) but whenever I go ANYWHERE else I put pants and my jacket on....

When I went down last year in the mountains I hopped up without a scratch on me, one hell of a headache, but no cuts or bruises. My joe rocket jacket saved me from all of that, and I went over the bars onto my head/shoulder.
+1