Not sure what exhaust to get.

Johhnnyyh

Reaction score
Visit site
I recently just bought myself a 2005 Yamaha fz6 as my first bike and this is my first time using the forum. I'm wondering what exhaust I should get? I live in CA and I heard it's hard to get around with a really loud exhaust because bikers get pulled over a lot due to their aftermarket exhausts, is that true? I want a nice, clean, and loud exhaust. I want a loud exhaust cause I want cars around me to know I'm there so I don't get hit by them. Any recommendations would be grateful.

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I run open Scorps and really like them. Their not not bad at low RPM's and get louder with RPM's. Above say 8K RPM's, they scream.

Its VERY rare I use my Stebel horn as the exhaust does indeed let others know your nearby. Someone stopped at green light, say texting (and not moving), I can give a rev myself being 2-3 cars back and get them moving...

They never need re-packing and have a limited lifetime warranty.

Here's a low rpm audio/video (in the garage) for a voltage check, but thier open in the video, not too loud at low RPM's;

https://www.flickr.com/photos/127092600@N08/

Last edited:

Johhnnyyh

Reaction score
Visit site
I did actually have my eye on scorpion. I was really debating on two brothers, yoshimura, Leo Vince, or scorpion. I couldn't find yoshimura for my fz6 so that is out of my options. What does repackaging mean? I'm still pretty new with motorcycle stuff, and if I were to buy the scorpion exhaust thru eBay or Amazon, is it still lifetime warranty or do I need to buy it off a certain website?

Andz

Phantom Rider
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I have Akrapovics on mine without the dB killers, I fitted them when the bike was about 3 months old so they have been on the bike for 11 years, no repacking, great sound but here the cops have other things on their mind other than noise....

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter