Need expert opinions - Time for valve adjustment?

SovietRobot

Scourge Of Humanity
Reaction score
Visit site
I recently started riding my bike to work after letting it sit for months at a time and started noticing some problems.

1. At first it wouldn't start, it would crank forever until I went wide open throttle then it would sputter to a start, like it was gasping for air. Now after riding it for a while it starts but still sputters to a start until I rev it a few times.

2. Off throttle/decel is really crappy

3. Throttlebodies are impossible to sync correctly

4. Lumpy idle, jumps from 1100-1600 rpm and sounds like it's got hot cams, which leads people to ask me where I got my cams.

5. Mediocre gas mileage, and I can smell unburnt gas all the time

These conditions would lead me to believe that the exhaust valves are sticking open, but I'm not an expert on this thing.

I also *think* the lumpy idle could be caused by cam chain slapping due to the piece of crap automatic tensioner found on these bikes. So today I took apart the tensioner, tested it, and put it back in. The idle is maybe 40% better but not perfect.

What do you think? Are my valves simply out of adjustment or is there possibly burnt valves?(please god no).

I will NOT take my bike to a shop and pay them $500 to do this. Instead I(if you think so) will buy all the parts and tools myself, even getting a new cam chain/gears and manual tensioner, and do the work myself and still come out on top.

Mileage = 24,000~

ChevyFazer

Redneck MacGyver
Reaction score
Visit site
I recently started riding my bike to work after letting it sit for months at a time and started noticing some problems.

1. At first it wouldn't start, it would crank forever until I went wide open throttle then it would sputter to a start, like it was gasping for air. Now after riding it for a while it starts but still sputters to a start until I rev it a few times.

2. Off throttle/decel is really crappy