My new '07 FZ6, RR, ramblings, etc.

M

mnormand

Thursday I snagged a beautiful blue 2007, all stock, mint, with only 600 miles. I've been reading this forum for some weeks now, and anything else FZ6. This is my 6th bike in about 2years, just got the urge to try many (used) trying to buy/sell smart, mostly dual sports. So far I've been lucky and pretty much rode everything for free, except the gear.

After just selling the 06 Triumph Tiger and wanting something not so heavy, I was in the market for a Jap sport/tourer, and kept being drawn to the Z. The usual Yamaha reasons, you know the drill, Jap bike, bulletproof, yada yada. The deals out there are stunning. :eek:

Short rides on the Z the last few days, but this morning was a great 150miler with all road conditions. Here are a few initial impressions..I'm no expert at all, but a casual rider, but want to contribute back.

Short clutch throw as discussed many times: no issues with me, I like it.

Brakes: no issues, next pads will be sintered tho.

Build/fit/finish: as usual, great. Just like my WR250R which I brag on relentlessly.

Exhaust: Very stealthy looking, but hot as mentioned. Certainly warms up the stock seat, and probably adds to its discomfort.

Stock screen: so far so good. Not changing anything, its hot here, and I need the clean air. No buffeting probs at my normal traveling speeds.

Transmission: fairly clean shifting, but bike is still very new. Oil change from Purple to my usual Shell Rotella shortly.

Footpegs: I may lower them soon.

Handlebars: definitely adding barback risers very soon. Know any used for sale?

I had an LED light panel from a previous bike, so I added to license plate, and wired to the license plate light, always on, to help followers see me better.

100_3070a.jpg