Moved bike after sitting through snow this past month = not happy

cmantis

Reaction score
Visit site
So I moved my bike after it being snowed in the past month. I just rolled it across the street for alternate side parking and at first I had to check if it was in gear than thought maybe a tire was flat. I guess from sitting so long and salt, snow dirt it is kinda tough to move. My friend suggested I ride it a bit slowly to get it going again but also recommended rebuilding the caliper. I have never done this before do I need to do both?

I found this link: http://www.600riders.com/forum/garage-mechanical-help/46886-overhauling-brake-calipers.html

However mine is an 05 with ~20k miles and the above thread talks about S2 models. Can anyone point me in the right direction to what parts if any are needed and or any more relevant threads or videos to get me going?

Thanks in advance.

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
So I moved my bike after it being snowed in the past month. I just rolled it across the street for alternate side parking and at first I had to check if it was in gear than thought maybe a tire was flat. I guess from sitting so long and salt, snow dirt it is kinda tough to move. My friend suggested I ride it a bit slowly to get it going again but also recommended rebuilding the caliper. I have never done this before do I need to do both?

I found this link: http://www.600riders.com/forum/garage-mechanical-help/46886-overhauling-brake-calipers.html

However mine is an 05 with ~20k miles and the above thread talks about S2 models. Can anyone point me in the right direction to what parts if any are needed and or any more relevant threads or videos to get me going?

Thanks in advance.