low beam not working, headlight mod

tjhess74

boo-yah!
Reaction score
Visit site
i was at a friends house over the weekend, and as i rode up to his place, he said i had a headlight out. the low beam on the h4 bulb was out, but the h7 was still on. we took the bulb out and it looked fine. put another bulb in and same issue.

the fuses were fine and his multimeter showed 12v to the wire supplying power to the h4 low beam. however, a test light wouldnt light up, conflicting the multi meter read out.

the previous owner did the mod, and i havent really investigated which version he used. all i know is this:

h7 is on the left side, h4 is on the right. a wire is running out of the harness on the left side (just behind the steering stem) and runs over to the right side bulb. this is the wire supplying power to the h4 low beam.

i havent had anymore time to look at it, but does anyone have any ideas? im not an electrical engineer, so basic is good for me.

chaskell27

Reaction score
Visit site
Sounds like you have probably already done this but I would start with the obvious stuff. Check to make sure the connection are all tight, both at the headlight and at the harness. Beyond that, if you are showing power in the wire up until the headlight connection, you've definitely got it narrowed down to that area. Good luck

tjhess74

boo-yah!
Reaction score
Visit site
the connection is solid, i just cant figure out why the multimeter would show voltage, but the test light wont (and yes, it works. tried it on the high beam). dunno, ill have to dig into it some more this weekend. itll be a good chance to see how he did the mod.

chaskell27

Reaction score
Visit site
Sorry I can't be more help on this one. It's tough without seeing it. It's always fun digging into the bike and finding the stupid things that previous owners did to them huh??? Good luck and let us know what you find out.

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site