Handlebars

AcesLA07

Reaction score
Visit site
I want to get used to the riding position of other street bikes and want some lower, shorter handlebars. Any suggestions?

Also, how difficult is it to replace handlebars? I'm a noob.

jmerch44

Reaction score
Visit site
Sorry dont have pics. I rotated my handlebars backwards, and I love the way it feels. If your looking for a sportbike riding position, forget about it. The change did feel alot sportier and comfortable, it also lowers you by an inch or so. I know there will be disagreements on that but I'm considering the fact that the handlebars are now angled downward. The only bad part is that now my grips touch the tank when turned all the way. Alot of people dont like this, but I never turn my bars all the way to one side when riding and I dont use the already worthless fork lock. If someone wants your bike, their gonna take it, if you want piece of mind, get lojack. Anyway, this just might be something you wanna try before spending money. It is not hard at all to adjust the handle bars. just undo the 4 screws on the clamp and rotated. When you find the desired position, you will have to rotate the brake fluid thing, brakes levers ect. accordingly. :welcome:

CCHOUSEKY

Kentucky Wildcat Fanatic
Reaction score
Visit site
I agree that you should read through that thread. Great stuff, and what made me decide to go with '06 FZ1 handlebars.

To answer a couple FAQ...yes, the stock bar ends will work with '06 FZ1 handlebars. No, your grips won't hit the tank (you just have to get the angle right...I have about 1/2" clearance on each side of the tank at full-lock).

And bars, unless you go with something like Suburban Machinery bars ($165...yikes!) aren't expensive, so it's easy to experiment. My FZ1 bars were $36 from the dealer, FYI.

AcesLA07

Reaction score
Visit site
Thanks for the help guys. Btw my handlebars aren't stock either. They were on there from the previous owner and are wider than the stocks yikes!