Got to play with a couple of Triumphs today

texcollect

Crotchety Old Fart
Reaction score
Visit site
Firstly let me say that I am 6ft 6 tall and (usually) the wrong side of 250 lbs !!
I am also new to this game with only about 4000 miles/12 months experience.

The Speed triple.
It was a fun bike, although a little tight for my size. As an FZ6 rider I am used to the "yamaha clunk" from 1st to 2nd. The speed triple's gearbox is like butter. No clunks. We were warned about how good Triumph brakes were before we hitn the road, but to be honest I think the FZ's are better. Someone at Triumph is a comedian and had set the shift light on the triple to 4000 rpm needless to say I ignored it. It was a little buzzy, but nothing that a pair of Grip Puppies wouldn't cure. The test route was about 60% freeway and 40% divided road. Needless to say there weren't many challengine corners, but I felt comfortable on the bike. One thing that surprised me is that with the FZ6 screen I get a lot of wind hitting my chest so I was expecting more wind issues with no screen, but I was wrong. There was no turbulence at all. Plus 1 for naked bikes.

The Sprint GT